Dev.to AI 🤖 Ai 👁 0 📖 9 min read

What are the best RunPod alternatives for AI training in 2026?

If your training runs long enough that losing a machine hurts, Nodus is the strongest RunPod alternative. It restores your latest checkpoint on a new machine when capacity is reclaimed, so cheaper interruptible GPUs can

If your training runs long enough that losing a machine hurts, Nodus is the strongest RunPod alternative. It restores your latest checkpoint on a new machine when capacity is reclaimed, so cheaper interruptible GPUs can finish long jobs, and its listed NVIDIA H100 rate is below RunPod's Secure Cloud rate. Modal suits short Python jobs, CoreWeave and Together AI suit clusters bought by the node, and AWS SageMaker or Google Vertex AI suit cloud credits; RunPod stays the pick for cheap interactive pods.

We build Nodus, so read this list with that in mind. Every competitor fact below links to that company's own pricing page or docs, and the cost math is written out so you can redo it with your own rates.

How do the main RunPod alternatives compare for training?

The short version: they differ less on the hourly price than on who restarts your run when a machine disappears.

Platform Best for How you pay H100 per GPU-hour (listed) When a machine is reclaimed
RunPod Interactive pods, cheap consumer GPUs Per second, prepaid balance $2.69 Community Cloud, $3.99 Secure Cloud (H100 SXM) On-demand pods are not displaced by other users
Nodus Long or interruptible training, fine-tuning, inference and agents on one platform Prepaid credits $2.60 (H100 SXM) Latest checkpoint restored on a replacement machine
Modal Short and medium Python jobs, serverless endpoints Per second $3.95 (H100 SXM5) Function restarts on the same input; you write the checkpointing
Together AI Preemptible clusters, hosted fine-tuning API Per GPU-hour $1.99 preemptible, $3.99 on demand (HGX H100) Preemptible tier listed; recovery not stated on the pricing page
CoreWeave Large multi-node runs bought by the node Per 8-GPU node-hour $6.16 on demand, about $2.46 spot (HGX H100) Spot rate listed; recovery not stated on the pricing page
AWS SageMaker Teams spending AWS credits By instance and time Varies by instance and region Managed spot copies checkpoints to and from Amazon S3
Google Vertex AI Teams spending Google Cloud credits By machine type and time Varies by machine type and region Job restarted up to six times; you write the checkpoints
Baseten Teams that already serve on Baseten Per minute $6.50 Not stated on the pricing page

Prices checked October 25, 2026 on each vendor's page: RunPod pricing and Pods docs, Nodus pricing, Modal pricing and preemption docs, Together AI pricing, CoreWeave pricing, SageMaker managed spot training, Vertex AI Spot VMs for training and Baseten pricing. Modal's $0.001097 per second and Baseten's $0.10833 per minute are multiplied out to hours. CoreWeave's 8-GPU node prices ($49.24 on demand, $19.71 spot) are divided by 8. The Nodus H100 SXM figure is listed at $2.60/hr on the Nodus pricing page.

A naming note: the company now styles itself Runpod, per its docs. Most people still search for RunPod, so we use that spelling here.

Why do teams look for a RunPod alternative?

Most reasons come straight from RunPod's own pricing docs, and they matter more for a 10-hour training run than for a notebook session.

The H100 price depends on which cloud you pick. RunPod lists an H100 SXM at $2.69/hr on Community Cloud and $3.99/hr on Secure Cloud. Its concepts page describes Secure Cloud as T3/T4 data centers and Community Cloud as individual compute providers connected through a vetted peer-to-peer system. Teams that need the data-center tier pay the higher rate.

An empty balance ends work hard. RunPod's Pods pricing docs say pods stop when the balance reaches $0, and pods without a network volume are terminated with data that cannot be recovered. Container disk is erased whenever a pod stops.

There is a default ceiling on spend. The same page sets a default limit of $80/hour across all resources. An 8 x H100 SXM pod on Secure Cloud is 8 x $3.99 = $31.92/hr, so two fit under the limit and a third does not until support raises it.

Discounts moved to sales. RunPod's savings plans are deprecated and can no longer be bought, so lower rates for steady use now go through its enterprise sales team.

Clusters have a stated size. Instant Clusters run 2 to 8 nodes, 16 to 64 GPUs, in one data center.

None of this is a claim about RunPod's uptime. It is what the docs say happens to your files and your bill.

What does one 80 GPU-hour training run cost on each?

On listed H100 rates, the same 8 x H100, 10-hour run ranges from about $159 on preemptible capacity to $520 on per-minute billing. We worked these from each vendor's published price, GPU compute only, with storage and egress left out.

Platform and capacity Rate used 8 x H100 for 10 hours
Together AI, preemptible $1.99/GPU-hr $159.20
CoreWeave, spot node $19.71/node-hr $197.10
Nodus $2.60/GPU-hr $208.00
RunPod, Community Cloud $2.69/GPU-hr $215.20
Modal $3.9492/GPU-hr $315.94
RunPod, Secure Cloud $3.99/GPU-hr $319.20
Together AI, on demand $3.99/GPU-hr $319.20
CoreWeave, on demand node $49.24/node-hr $492.40
Baseten Training $6.4998/GPU-hr $519.98

Each row is 80 GPU-hours times the rate, or 10 node-hours for CoreWeave. Against RunPod Secure Cloud, the Nodus figure is $111.20 lower for this run.

The cheapest rows are interruptible, and their real price depends on what a reclaim costs you. Say a reclaim lands at hour 6 and your last checkpoint was 25 minutes earlier.

A run that restores that checkpoint loses 25 / 60 x 8 = 3.3 GPU-hours. A run that restarts from zero loses 6 x 8 = 48 GPU-hours, more than half the job, plus the time someone spends noticing and relaunching it. That gap is why we rank recovery above the hourly rate.

Which RunPod alternative should you pick?

Start from the job, not the price list. This is the rule we use when people ask us.

If you need Pick
A long single-node run where the bill matters and your script can checkpoint Nodus
To keep your RunPod account and balance but add automatic recovery Nodus, with RunPod connected as a cloud account (Beta)
Training, fine-tuning, inference endpoints and agents billed in one place Nodus
Short Python jobs next to web endpoints Modal
A hosted fine-tuning API instead of your own training loop Together AI fine-tuning
More than 8 nodes on one fabric, bought by the node CoreWeave or Together AI
To spend AWS credits or commitments AWS SageMaker with managed spot training
To spend Google Cloud credits Google Vertex AI with Spot VMs
Training next to models you already serve on Baseten Baseten Training
A cheap consumer GPU with SSH for an afternoon Stay on RunPod Community Cloud

How does Nodus keep a preempted run going?

Nodus treats every run as a series of attempts, and a new attempt starts from your latest committed checkpoint. The attempts and recovery docs spell out the order. On a reclaim notice, Nodus asks your run for an urgent checkpoint and prepares a replacement machine at the same time. The replacement starts only once the old machine is provably gone, so two copies never write over each other.

A Checkpointed run loses at most the work since its last committed checkpoint, and a checkpoint taken during the reclaim notice still counts. Your program writes its weights, optimizer state and step to /nodus/state and reads them back on start. Nodus restores files, not process memory, and never adds resume flags to your command.

Interruptible capacity is a placement choice, not a separate product. Nodus docs describe interruptible: Allow as using interruptible capacity only when it is cheaper to finish. Money stops are graceful too: when credits run out, a checkpointed Job takes an urgent checkpoint, suspends, and resumes from it once funded.

The same account runs Jobs, Sandboxes, Functions, inference endpoints, durable agents and TrainingJobs (Beta). Coding agents can drive it through the Nodus MCP server. Creating a resource there requires an accepted dry run, and the agent works inside the person's own projects and spending limits. RunPod also offers an MCP server, so MCP alone is not the difference; the estimate-before-spend step is.

Can you keep your RunPod account and still use Nodus?

Yes, if your organization has the feature turned on. The cloud accounts docs list RunPod among the accounts you can connect with an API key and a credit limit (Beta, enabled per organization by Nodus support). Nodus then places your Jobs, Workspaces and other single-node work in that account first, up to the limit, and uses Nodus capacity when the account is full or out of credit. Sandboxes and multi-node runs use Nodus capacity.

This is the documented command. The key is read from standard input, never from the command line:

printf '%s' "$RUNPOD_API_KEY" | nodus cloud connect runpod my-runpod --credit-limit 200

The --burst flag decides what happens when that account is full: allow Nodus capacity (the default), ask for approval, or deny it.

Where is RunPod still the better choice?

RunPod wins for cheap, hands-on GPU time. Its pricing page lists an RTX 4090 at $0.34/hr on Community Cloud, pods bill by the second, and its docs state no fees for data ingress or egress. If you want SSH into a box, a Jupyter notebook and an hour of tinkering, that is hard to beat.

It also has a serverless product for inference, a template hub, and Instant Clusters with 3200 Gbps networking on H200 and B200 nodes. If your training already fits in one pod, saves its own checkpoints to a network volume, and someone is watching it, moving may not be worth the afternoon.

Modal stays ahead for short functions wired to web endpoints. CoreWeave and Together AI are built for very large clusters, where Nodus multi-node training is still in Beta.

How do you move a RunPod training job to Nodus?

Point your checkpoint writes at /nodus/state, then run the same command through the CLI. First install and sign in:

pip install nodus-compute
nodus login

Then dry-run the job to see the estimate before anything is billed. Every flag here is documented in the nodus run CLI reference; the torchrun part is your existing command:

nodus run --name ft-h100 --gpu H100:8 --image nodus/pytorch \
  --checkpoint /nodus/state --continuity Checkpointed --interruptible \
  --max-cost 250 --dry-run -- torchrun --nproc_per_node 8 train.py

Drop --dry-run to submit it. The --max-cost 250 cap sits just above the $208 worked out earlier, so a run that goes long stops at the cap instead of draining your balance. For a head-to-head with Modal, see Nodus vs Modal. If you are weighing Modal too, our Modal alternatives for training list covers the same ground from that side.

FAQ

Is Nodus cheaper than RunPod Community Cloud?

For an H100 SXM, slightly, at the rates checked for this post: $2.60/hr listed on the Nodus pricing page against $2.69/hr on RunPod Community Cloud. For consumer cards such as the RTX 4090 or RTX 3090, compare both pricing pages on the day, because the gap is small and changes.

Does Nodus run my work on RunPod?

Only if you connect your own RunPod account and your organization has that feature enabled. Otherwise your work runs on Nodus capacity.

What happens to a Nodus job if my credits run out mid-run?

A checkpointed Job takes an urgent checkpoint, suspends, and resumes automatically from that checkpoint once you add credit. Nothing runs past what you funded.

Do I need to rewrite my training script?

Usually not. You need it to save state to /nodus/state and load whatever is there on start, the same save-and-resume pattern you already need for any long run.

Is there a free tier?

Nodus gives a first organization $2.00 of starter credit after email and card verification, and adds another $28.00 after a paid top-up, both expiring 30 days after the grant. Modal's Starter plan includes $30 of compute per month.

Originally published on the Nodus blog.

📰 Read the original article on Dev.to AI

Originally published by Dev.to AI. Aggregated on AIWithGhost for educational purposes — full credit and traffic to the original publisher.