What Will You Submit? Machine Learning Projects, Exams and Feedback Compared
Expect different kinds of work: 365's Machine Learning in Python course lists exercises and exams, its broader track includes that course, and DeepLearning.AI's specialization places ungraded notebooks before graded assi
Expect different kinds of work: 365's Machine Learning in Python course lists exercises and exams, its broader track includes that course, and DeepLearning.AI's specialization places ungraded notebooks before graded assignments. Individual written feedback on the named work is not specified on the particular course, track and specialization pages checked, including their page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. For our general verification approach, see how we check.
What the published work actually includes
This comparison examines 3 named program designs, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026: the 365 Data Science Machine Learning in Python individual course, the 365 Data Science Machine learning scientist career track, and the DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization, which each structure learner work and evaluations differently.
These designs differ in size and overlap. The 365 Machine learning scientist track displays 10 AI and data science courses and includes Machine Learning in Python, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. Do not add the individual course and track counts as independent sets of work.
| Program design | Named work | Stated assessment form | Individual written feedback on named work | Access / credential distinction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 365 Machine Learning in Python, individual course | Used-car price-prediction example and model-optimization assignment; curriculum lists 104 exercises | Coding exercises, practice exams and a 110-minute course-exam entry; displayed total is 5 exams | Not specified on the named course page or its page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026 | Course page says certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan |
| 365 Machine learning scientist, career track | Published track of 10 courses, including the individual course above; overview describes model building, testing and practical datasets | Provider's certificate page distinguishes course and career-track exams; exact track-wide assessment inventory is outside this comparison | Not specified on the named track page or its page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026 | A broader track, not an additional independent copy of the individual course's exercises |
| DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization | Named practice labs in regression, neural networks and reinforcement learning | Ungraded notebooks precede graded programming assignments | Not specified on the named DeepLearning.AI page or its page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026 | Certificate route differs between direct Pro membership and Coursera; free auditing does not provide a certificate |
Table details are as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. For a broader framework, see compare AI course curricula.
Exercises, projects and exams are different tasks
On the 365 Data Science Machine Learning in Python curriculum page, the provider lists 72 lessons, 104 exercises and 5 exams, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026, while the DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization describes ungraded code notebooks before graded programming assignments and names specific practice labs.
Inside the 365 individual course, those displayed counts are for that named course rather than the entire platform, and do not establish that every item is separately graded or estimate completion time. Its Linear Regression Practical Example section uses a used-cars dataset to build a model predicting car prices and describes a final assignment exploring model optimization, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. Having a stated assignment in the syllabus confirms the subject matter of the task, but it is not proof of an independent capstone, permission to share the work publicly, or human review.
The 365 Machine learning scientist overview describes training real machine-learning models, testing and refining them on real data, and applying skills to practical datasets, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. This describes intended work, not a separately graded final project, required submission or employment outcome.
DeepLearning.AI describes its hands-on format with different labels. On the Machine Learning Specialization page, the curriculum explicitly names a linear-regression practice lab, a logistic-regression practice lab, neural-network practice labs and a reinforcement-learning practice lab, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. These named labs serve as curriculum examples rather than an exhaustive project count or evidence that every task produces an independent portfolio artifact.
The specialization page also notes that its assignments and lectures use Python rather than the original course's Octave, and it describes ungraded code notebooks with sample code and interactive graphs before the graded programming assignments, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. For learners planning how to fit practice tasks into a routine, see machine learning one hour a day.
What the pages establish about assessment and feedback
The 365 Data Science Machine Learning in Python curriculum labels coding exercises, practice exams and a course exam, where the Course exam entry is listed as 110 minutes, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026, while individual written feedback on the named work is not specified across the checked pages.
Do not add curriculum durations or read the displayed exam count as separate course-final exams.
For the broader 365 catalog, 365's certificate page distinguishes individual courses with self-paced lessons, interactive exercises and a final exam from career tracks with practical exercises plus course and career-track exams, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. This is a general product-type explanation on the certificate page rather than a verified item count or a specific list of assessments for every track, so it remains distinct from the named Machine Learning in Python course curriculum.
Ungraded notebooks and graded assignments are different parts of the learning sequence. The description of graded work is not a promise of individual instructor feedback.
When buyers ask who checks their submitted work and whether they will receive personalized commentary, the evidence from these specific course and track pages shows three separate, bounded absences regarding individual written feedback, none of which establishes that grading, community help, learner support, or feedback generally is absent from either platform:
- For the 365 Data Science individual course, individual written feedback on the named Machine Learning in Python assignment is not specified on its course page, including embedded page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- For the 365 Data Science career track, individual written feedback on the work in the Machine learning scientist track is not specified on its track page, including embedded page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- For the DeepLearning.AI program, individual written feedback on the specialization's named programming assignments is not specified on the DeepLearning.AI specialization page, including embedded page data, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
What you can take away from the course
The DeepLearning.AI specialization names 3 curriculum sections and offers annotated slides for download, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. The provider cautions that these files might not match the latest video slides. A slide download does not establish permission to publish assignment solutions or notebooks.
The named sections are Supervised Machine Learning: Regression and Classification; Advanced Learning Algorithms; and Unsupervised Learning, Recommenders, Reinforcement Learning, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. For the latest slide information, the provider directs learners to the lecture videos.
Neither a described assignment nor a slide download establishes permission to publish assignments, solutions, datasets or notebooks. For creating original work, see build an AI portfolio alongside a course.
On the credential side, what you take away depends on the platform and learning plan. For 365 Data Science, the Machine Learning in Python course page says certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. For DeepLearning.AI, a help page explains that learners who take its longer courses and specializations on Coursera pay the course or specialization fee and receive a Coursera Certificate, while members completing them on the DeepLearning.AI platform receive a DeepLearning.AI Certificate of Completion, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. To compare how standalone classes and broader credential tracks fit different goals, read AI certificate vs course.
Hidden costs and failure points
DeepLearning.AI Pro is priced at $25 per month billed annually or $30 per month billed monthly, in USD with taxes possibly applying, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. Coursera separately lists $49 per month for this specialization. The annual-plan figure is a monthly equivalent, not a monthly charge.
- Separate enrollment routes for the specialization: The direct DeepLearning.AI Pro route and the Coursera subscription route are separate access paths, and neither represents a fixed completion total. The USD currency and tax qualifier on the direct specialization page applies to DeepLearning.AI Pro and does not price or qualify Coursera.
- Free access versus earning a certificate on DeepLearning.AI: DeepLearning.AI's help page states that free users can access content but do not receive certificates or accomplishments, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. For the direct DeepLearning.AI Pro route specifically, the specialization FAQ says members receive a certificate after completing the required assessments, whereas free auditing does not provide a certificate, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- Plan inclusion on 365 Data Science: The Machine Learning in Python page includes certificates with the Self-study learning plan, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. Plan inclusion is not a passing guarantee. This comparison does not include a 365 plan price.
Questions before choosing a course
Before selecting between a single course, a 10-course career track like 365 Data Science's Machine learning scientist display, or the DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026, review these specific answers regarding portfolio reuse, notebook grading, written feedback, and certificate access.
Is a named exercise or project automatically an independent portfolio piece?
No. While 365 Data Science's Machine Learning in Python describes a Linear Regression Practical Example using a used-cars dataset to predict car prices and a final assignment exploring model optimization, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026, a stated curriculum assignment is not proof of an independent portfolio piece or permission to publish the work publicly.
Are ungraded notebooks the same as graded assignments?
No. On the DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization page, the curriculum describes ungraded code notebooks with sample code and interactive graphs that come before the graded programming assignments, and notes that its assignments and lectures use Python rather than the original course's Octave, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. The ungraded preparation notebooks and the graded programming assignments are distinct steps.
Do these course pages establish individual written feedback on the named work?
No. Individual written feedback on the named work is not specified on the 365 Machine Learning in Python course page, on the 365 Machine learning scientist track page, or on the DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization page, including embedded page data on each page, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
Does downloading course slides mean I can publish assignment solutions?
No. The DeepLearning.AI Machine Learning Specialization page offers annotated course slides for download and cautions that they might not reflect the latest video slides, directing learners to the lecture videos for the latest information, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. That option establishes slide downloads only; broader reuse or permission to publish assignments, solutions, datasets, or notebooks is not established by this evidence.
Does free access provide the same certificate?
For DeepLearning.AI's longer courses and specializations, the provider's help page states that free users can access content but do not receive certificates or accomplishments, whereas learners who take them on Coursera pay the course or specialization fee and receive a Coursera Certificate and members completing them on the DeepLearning.AI platform receive a DeepLearning.AI Certificate of Completion, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. On the direct DeepLearning.AI Pro route, the specialization FAQ also states that members receive a certificate after completing the required assessments and that free auditing does not provide a certificate, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. These rules apply to DeepLearning.AI and should not be transplanted to 365 Data Science, where the course page states that certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan, as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
Sources
The facts in this comparison of 3 named program designs come from the provider and platform pages listed below, each as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026. Each link opens the official page; the date shows when that page was read for this article.
- 365 Data Science: Machine Learning in Python Course, observed in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- 365 Data Science: Machine Learning Scientist Career Track, observed in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- 365 Data Science: Certificates, observed in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- DeepLearning.AI: Machine Learning Specialization, observed in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- Coursera: Machine Learning Specialization, observed in the United States on 15 October 2026.
- DeepLearning.AI Help Center: certificates and accomplishments, observed in the United States on 15 October 2026.
Last reviewed: 15 October 2026. See the editorial policy.
Originally published on academies.ai.
Originally published by Dev.to AI. Aggregated on AIWithGhost for educational purposes β full credit and traffic to the original publisher.